Why I love the drop at Gilutongan Island

Standard

This is really embarrassing! I have been freediving since March 2013, but this is my very first freediving blog post. Shame on me! Hahaha

Oh well, better make it nice then.

Just like I mentioned, I have been freediving a lot since March 2013, where a fellow blogger/good friend of mine Johnn Mendoza invited me. Since I really love to swim ever since I was a kid, to the point that somehow, I learned to swim on my own, I gave it a shot. The feeling of diving without the tanks (as if I have experienced scuba diving! hahaha) is really addicting. Since then, I have been freediving a lot, now with my freediving group “Dive Ta Bai!”.

Then there’s this one great idea from our diving group: to go freediving at Gilutongan Island. Gilutongan Island is a small island which is part of the Cordova territory in Mactan, Cebu. Travelling by boat to Gilutongan Island from mainland Mactan takes about 45-60 minutes, depending on your boredom tolerance. But for us, we didn’t mind the time, because going there is already a fun-filled trip.

Note: All photos in this blog are courtesy of Doi Domasian of The Travelling Feet.

On our way to Gilutongan Island.

We have reached our destination.

The original plan was to dock in the island itself, but since we were there to dive, we stopped in the middle of the sea. Before we started to dive, we go through our usual way of checking the depth and the strength of the current. Just kidding! It was really us who cannot wait to get soaked in the salt water.

Just couldn't resist the water that time. (Photo by Doi of The Travelling Feet)

Just couldn’t resist the water that time.

Edcel and his way of telling us that he is an addict to salt water.

Edcel and his way of telling us that he is an addict to salt water.

And so the most awaited part of the day has finally began. After seeing a drop in our area, me and my dive buddies hurriedly went to the drop and start diving.

Us doing some breath ups before diving.

Us doing some breath ups before diving.

Trying to get to the bottom.

Trying to get to the bottom.

Peacefully gliding under the water at the Gilutongan Island drop.

Peacefully gliding under the water at the Gilutongan Island drop.

But what I love about the drop in Gilutongan Island is the challenge it introduced everytime I went down. I am currently trying to beat my personal record which is 40+ feet, and boy, this terrain was a perfect ground for me to challenge myself and trying to reach 50 feet with ease! The terrain was a bit scary once I get deeper, but it gives me more reason to go deeper because I want to experience what its like to go 50 feet and deeper. In the end, I was not able to accomplish the challenge.

I'm going down.

I’m going down.

I really forgot how deep this was, but believe me, this is not 50 feet.

I really forgot how deep this was, but believe me, this is not 50 feet. (Look at that deep area!)

Of course, we were not there to push our limits by beating our own records. We were there to have fun and take away all the stress we got from the weekdays. All we did was to really enjoy the waters of Gilutongan Island and forget everything that bothers us.

Trying to be Aquaman.

Trying to be Aquaman.

When the camera is placed at the bottom.

When the camera is placed at the bottom.

One of the mermans of Dive Ta Bai, Johnn Mendoza

One of the mermans of Dive Ta Bai, Johnn Mendoza

Of course, we came here to have fun with our friends underwater.

Of course, we came here to have fun with our friends underwater.

This is by far one of the fishes that we always see whenever we dive. I only get to see them in books and magazines before.

This is by far one of the fishes that we always see whenever we dive. I only get to see them in books and magazines before.

Doi was really kind enough to take photos of me diving without my yellow fins.

So that's how I look when diving without fins.

So that’s how I look when diving without fins.

Gwiyomi underwater?

Gwiyomi underwater?

We never regret why we stopped in the middle of the sea to dive. Because of that decision, we were able to have an unforgettable dive. Thanks to the drop at Gilutongan Island, this diving session was one of the fun dives I had with my Dive Ta Bai friends. Looking forward to go there again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.