Last Moments in Cebu

Standard

It has been a month since I moved here in Manila. Since then, there are so many new things that I have experienced. It is my first time to be away from my family and my hometown for a very long time, and honestly, it’s not really easy, but good thing fate is so good to me and I managed to cope up.

But I can’t help but feel homesick. There are times that I think of Cebu, my family, the place, the friends I left there. Well, Cebu has been my hometown and my domicile for more than 20 years, so this feeling is really expected of me.

Allow me to share my last moments in Cebu before I got relocated in Manila:

  • CIO A&P Cebu
Well, I managed to be part of this awesome picture. Photo by Mary Grace Pinero-Rago

Well, I managed to be part of this awesome picture. Photo by Mary Grace Pinero-Rago

During the day before my flight to Manila, they kept saying they are gonna miss me. Some of them trolled that they are not sad because I’m leaving the Cebu Team. Whatever you said that time, I felt the love guys! πŸ™‚

  • Movie Date with College Buddies
Default hang-out sessions: Movie Nights! Photo by Joanna Casipong

Default hang-out sessions: Movie Nights! Photo by Joanna Casipong

This and other past movie night outs are one of the things that I will miss in Cebu. The screaming of the girls everytime we watch horror movies, the spontaneous jokes that are quickly made up just to relate it to the scenes, and the food trips/cheat days. Guys, please visit me here in Manila!

  • Secret Despedida from Debate Folks
Oh these nerds! Photo by NiΓ±a Yang.

Oh these nerds! Photo by NiΓ±a Yang.

The nerdest people of them all gathered days before my departure to perform the traditional “despedida” party whenever someone of our kind will leave Cebu for a long time. It is my turn now, so these insatiable-to-debate humans stormed in to bid goodbye to me. As expected, these homo sapiens (right now, I’m thinking if they are really giving justice to the term) are really hungry for some intellectual topics, most of them are out of this world. I must admit, I will miss you guys!

  • Kazuko (Family)
Final picture before I fly to Manila.

Final picture before I fly to Manila.

This is probably the saddest moment before I left Cebu. This is the moment when my parents together with my nephew Miguel accompanied me to the airport for my departure day. On this day my life-changing adventure in Manila started, at the same time, my life in Cebu ended. Well not really, because I’ll be coming back sometimes to see you guys, of course.

I may not be in Cebu now, but my heart is still pure Cebuano. I maybe far away from my hometown, but I’m surely gonna be back. So, it’s not goodbye, but it’s “see you around!”

Leave a Reply

